Daylight Savings Sucks

You know, Daylight Savings sucks.  I happen to like the sun. Maybe it is just me, but this whole “daylight savings” thing really urks me. It is compounded by the fact that I have moved up to San Francisco in the past couple of years and now I get even less sunshine in my day because I live further north than I used to (I used to live in San Diego).  But, I really fail to see why we have to live with changes that were made during World War II.  Well, this is what I used to think.

I got a little pissy, so I did a little research on the web.  It turns out that what we call “Daylight Savings Time” is called “Summer Time” in the rest of the world (you know we always have to be different).  Daylight Savings Time was implemented to give people (like me) who are farther north from the equator, more daylight in the summer months, because there is much more daylight in the summer months. Apparently, there are a host of other reasons to keep Daylight Savings Time around.

So, I guess I will just have to relocate south during the “winter” months. Now if I can just figure out why SF is such a miserable place in the summer months….:) 

Leave a Reply

